Kooshk Award

Kooshk Artist Residency Award (KARA 2015)

Following the open and free online application procedure, the 5 respected international members of the jury, consisting of Alessio Antoniolli – Director of Gasworks, Tooraj Khamenehzadeh – Artist, Curator and Program Manager of Kooshk Residency and Co-Founder and a Member of the Board of Directors of Rybon Art Center, Caoimhín Mac Giolla Léith – Critic, Curator and Senior Lecturer in Irish language and literature at University College Dublin, Bisi Silva – Curator and the Founder/ Director of Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA, Lagos) and Pooja Sood – Curator, Director of KHOJ International Artists’ Association and Founding Director of ARThinkSouthAsia, selected 4 artists from 247 applications coming from 70 different countries.

The list of the KARA winners is as below:

Kevin Gaffney from Ireland – Cinema
Sandra Stanionyte from Lithuania – Performance
Korinsky from Germany – Music
Elena Artemenko* from Russia – Visual Art

 * Ayesha Zulfiqar from Pakistan was selected first, which due to personal issues could not make it to join the program, and Elena Artemenko, the talented visual artist from Russia was chosen from our shortlist of winners to accompany us.)

In the first days of their stay, the 4 artists presented their work to the audience in an artist talk session held in Rybon Art Center and then had some sightseeing of the museums and cultural/historical places of Tehran in order to get introduced to  the city.

In 2 last days of their stay, they showed the result of their works and experiences as an Open Studio in Mohsen Gallery, consisting of a video by Kevin Gaffney, an installation by Korinsky, an installation by Elena Artemenko and a performance by Sandra Stanionyte.