Kooshk Award

Kooshk Artist Residency Award (KARA 2016)

Following the open and free online application procedure, the 5 respected international members of the jury, consisting of Aaron Cezar – Creative Producer and Director of Delfina Foundation, Michket Krifa – Independent Curator and Art critic of African and Middle Eastern Photography, Naiza Khan – Artist, Researcher and Founding Trustee of Vasl Artists’ Collective, Pakistan, Susan Hapgood – Curator, Executive Director at International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP), Senior Advisor to ICI, and Founder and Director of the Mumbai Art Room and Tooraj Khamenehzadeh – Artist, Curator and Program Manager of Kooshk Residency and Co-Founder and a Member of the Board of Directors of Rybon Art Center, selected 4 artists from 337 applications coming from 97 different countries.

The list of the KARA winners is as below:


  •  Sujin Lim from South Korea
  •  Adriana Salazar from Colombia*
  •  Zoya Siddiqui from Pakistan*
  •  Esmeralda Kosmatopoulos from Greece

* Unfortunately and due to visa issues, Zoya Siddiqui and Adriana Salazar could not join the program. Asaki Kan from Japan from the shortlist was selected to participate in the program instead.


Duration: 1-31 May, 2016


Kooshk Residency

Kooshk residency is a non-political cultural and artistic space in Tehran. Kooshk, with sponsorship of private section tries to provide a convenient space for artists, curators, researchers, writers and filmmakers to encourage inter-cultural dialogues and art creation.


Award Goals

The Kooshk Artist Residency Award has been implemented to support artists, creativity and the development of new ideas in the unique space of Tehran. This Residency program is a chance for attendants to do research and experiment, develop professionally maintain direct dialogues and the exchange of ideas in order to grow and nurture their creativity, and try new methods of working and thinking. The Residency will be an annual event lasting one month and will be offered to four selected artists working in any field of art.

During the residency, Kooshk will provide a dynamic and distinctive situation for international artists to work and exchange ideas with local artists, critics and researchers. The program emphasizes a balance between working in a personal space and working in collaboration with other artists and interacting with viewers and the environment. In line with its goals, Kooshk will make any effort to have a contribution in the growth of cultural and social views, by gathering local, national and international artists with a diverse spectrum of artistic disciplines in the cultural and artistic space of Tehran and by creating the possibility for exchanging ideas.